Galatians 5: 1

2017.03.24

Picture Source: Youversion

You know what’s crazy? Sometimes we believe (in the moment) that tie to sin, that bondage to the things we used to do, that foolishness God has freed us from feels good. Have you ever been trying to do the right thing but it feels like nothing is working? Like everyone and everything is set against you? You feel frustrated and exhausted?

In that moment of weakness, you reminisce of those “good times” of sin. (You see I used air quotes.) That’s like me trying to lose weight. I’m not seeing results though I’ve been trying to eat right and exercise. I give in. I fall off the wagon. Demolish some fast food and a box of ice cream chocolate eclairs from the grocery store. Later, I feel a bit guilty because I threw my hard work away for a moment of pleasure.

Although convicted, my body begins to yearn for the junk I used to indulge in. I’d broken free and didn’t want it like I used to …until I gave in that day. Now I have to get myself back to where I was before. Sin is the same way. You give in. Feel that moment of pleasure. Then here comes the conviction. Ugh, why’d I do that? Now that habit, that person, that taste, that feel, that desire you’d been freed from keeps popping back into your mind. Your flesh wants it again just because you yielded in the moment of weakness.

It may seem hard but don’t. Galatians tells us to stand fast. Be strong. Talk to God. Seek Him. Meditate on His Word. Tell others what He’s done for you. Walk in that freedom that Christ gave His life for. Be patient. Trust God.

#DontYieldToSin #ForgivenFriday

* * * * *

Galatians 5: 1 (AMP) It was for this freedom that Christ set us free [completely liberating us]; therefore keep standing firm and do not be subject again to a yoke of slavery [which you once removed].

Galatians 5: 1 (MSG) Christ has set us free to live a free life. So take your stand! Never again let anyone put a harness of slavery on you.

Leave a Reply

