PSALM 59: 16

2017.03.25

Picture Source: Youversion

The weather has been rough all day. Your area has been under a tornado watch. Fortunately, you’re at home when the tornado siren begins to sound. You have a tornado shelter, but instead you frantically run around the house to find a safe spot. Should you hide in the tub or the hallway? Should you bring the radio or turn the tv up extra loud to hear the meteorologist? Where’s your cell phone?

We tend to act the same way in our times of danger and desperate need. We worry; we get anxious. We try to figure out how we can solve the problem. What can we do? That’s the problem. Why would we try to do anything when we can just go into our storm shelter and be protected from what is to come? Why not simply run to God?

I’ve been guilty of it before. I once found myself in a situation where my mortgage company had dropped the ball and, unbeknownst to me, hadn’t paid part of my property taxes in years. The county was ready to put my home up for auction. I DIDN’T EVEN KNOW!! I was beside myself and trying to figure out how in the world I was going to fix it. Would another job help? Could I put a pause on repaying student loans? How embarrassing is this? Losing my house! God why?!

God. I hadn’t stopped to talk to Him. Instead I was trying to figure it out with my brain instead of taking it to the Creator of not just my brain but of the entire universe. When I gave it to Him and took refuge in Him, He handled it. When I found myself in a relationship that was dark and abusive, I had to run to Him. When I was (and am) treated differently at work because some feel skin colors make you inferior, I go to my stronghold.

God has always seen me through. Despite my being hardheaded, He’s been there to shield and protect. He’s covered me through storms and allowed me to recognize that it was (and still is) all Him. I serve a Mighty God. A loving God. A God who will forever be my stronghold and refuge in the day of my distress. That sounds like Good News to me.

#GodMyRefuge #SetApartSaturday

* * * * *

Psalm 59: 16 (AMP) But as for me, I will sing of Your mighty strength and power; Yes, I will sing joyfully of your lovingkindness in the morning; For You have been my stronghold and a refuge in the day of my distress.

Psalm 59: 16 (TLB) But as for me, I will sing each morning about your power and mercy. For you have been my high tower of refuge, a place of safety in the day of my distress.

Leave a Reply

