John 16: 33

2017.03.28

Picture Source: Youversion

We are witnessing terrorist attacks on foreign soil and here at home. Countries are in the midst of civil wars. People are struggling to stay alive. Innocent people are being murdered by police. Countless children are going missing. Leaders who are supposed to be our voice instead go after their own agendas. Riots have broken out. Hate fills people’s hearts. Fear fills others. Some have reached a breaking point. When will it all end?

If we focus on all that is taking place in the world around us, our hearts will be grieved. We’ll wonder why it’s happening or what’s the point of it all.

The Good News is that in the face of distress and suffering we can have peace. If you put your trust in God and rest fully in Him, there is a peace that can be found. Some may wonder: why should I trust something I can’t see?

I put my trust in Him because He has continued show that in Him I can be victorious and overcome all that is thrown my way. When I had to deal with identity theft and false charges, He made sure that what I lost was replaced. When people wanted to treat me a certain way because of my skin color, He opened doors, created opportunities, and allowed me to succeed. When threats and insults were hurled my way, He silenced those mouths and comforted me. When lied to and deceived by people I thought could be trusted, He protected me from the drama and harm that could have come my way.

He’s done so much more.

In the face of a world that is chaotic, when havoc is all around, when life seems to be hopeless and days seem dim, I am confident and assured that I will find peace in Him because He is my resting place.

#PeaceInHim #TrustingHimTuesday

* * * * *

John 16: 33 (AMP) I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have [perfect] peace. In the world you have tribulation and distress and suffering, but be courageous [be confident, be undaunted, be filled with joy]; I have overcome the world.” [My conquest is accomplished, My victory abiding.]

John 16: 33 (MSG) I’ve told you all this so that trusting me, you will be unshakable and assured, deeply at peace. In this godless world you will continue to experience difficulties. But take heart! I’ve conquered the world.”

Leave a Reply

