Psalm 18: 2

2017.03.31.jpg

Picture Source: Youversion

There is a lady, who attends our church, that I’ve known since I was a young girl. Her resilience, humility, and reliance on the Lord is resounding. She doesn’t mind telling you her testimony – how she used to be on drugs and how the man she loved and trusted tried to kill her and left her for dead. She’ll tell you how she reached a point where she was resolute in her determination to trust in God and to turn her life around.

To this day, she still says that she feels she needs to work on trusting God more and not worrying. But the thing is, every time she says what she’s concerned about, she follows it up with “I know God can do it because He’s done it before”.

Though your testimony may not be like hers, I’m sure God has done something for you. Time and time again, God has shown Himself to be “my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength” (Psalm 18: 2 KJV) and yet sometimes I still wonder or worry if He’ll do it another time. When I think about it though, when has He truly ever let His people down?

He wants us to trust Him so that He can show who He really is. He wants us to trust Him so He can show His might and His power. So He can show His divine sovereignty and protection over us. To show how He can be solace in the midst of grief, providence in the midst of lack, a ruler in the midst of chaos, a healer in the midst of sickness, a hiding place in the midst of attack, a defense when all else is against you. He wants to prove that He will be the one to never turn His back on you, that one constant in your life, the one you can always go to.

He’s simply waiting on you to trust Him. We have to stop thinking with our fleshly minds and remember the things that He’s done for us. He’s shown Himself countless times. When we finally put all faith and confidence in Him, He then can be our salvation, our high tower, our stronghold. That’s Good News.

#RockFortressDeliverer #ForgivenFriday

* * * * *

Psalm 18: 2 (AMP) The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and the One who rescues me; My God, my rock and strength in whom I trust and take refuge; My shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower—my stronghold.

Psalm 18: 2 (TLB) The Lord is my fort where I can enter and be safe; no one can follow me in and slay me. He is a rugged mountain where I hide; he is my Savior, a rock where none can reach me, and a tower of safety. He is my shield. He is like the strong horn of a mighty fighting bull.

Leave a Reply

