Psalm 42:11

2017.05.01.jpg

Picture Source: Youversion

Ever get antsy about a situation? Feel like nothing is working in your favor? I’ve been at a place in my life where certain people at work seemed to be against me. I would do my job, fulfill all duties, abide by policies; however, I’d find myself being “talked to” as if I had done something wrong. I’ve been in relationships that I knew would work – only to be disappointed by empty promises or untruthful words. I’ve been part of a ministry where I felt I could really flourish but was more invisible than anything. I’ve been in a pain that left me in tears, asking God why me? What was the point?

What I go through isn’t unique. I’m not the only person going through situations like these. 1 Corinthians 10: 13 (MSG) says that “no test or temptation that comes your way is beyond the course of what others have had to face”.  Yes, in that moment, it may seem like I am alone or am the only person to ever face it, but Psalm 42 tells us to place our hope in God. I love how The Living Bible puts verse 11: “Don’t be discouraged. Don’t be upset. Expect God to act! For I know that I shall again have plenty of reason to praise him for all that he will do. He is my help! He is my God!”

While there may be some who may abandon us in our times of despair, pain, and restlessness, God isn’t like that. He is God. Our God. He loves you enough to “never let you down; he’ll never let you be pushed past your limit; he’ll always be there to help you come through it” (1 Corinthians 10: 13 MSG). I’d definitely say that is Good News.

#HopeAndWaitOnGod #MeditateOnHimMonday

* * * * *

Psalm 42:11 (AMP) Why are you in despair, O my soul? Why have you become restless and disquieted within me? Hope in God and wait expectantly for Him, for I shall yet praise Him, the help of my countenance and my God.

Psalm 42:11 (TLB) But, O my soul, don’t be discouraged. Don’t be upset. Expect God to act! For I know that I shall again have plenty of reason to praise him for all that he will do. He is my help! He is my God!

Leave a Reply

